Vilhelm Lauritzen’s Radiohus (built 1938-1954) is a masterpiece of Danish Modernist architecture. When the Danish Broadcasting Corporation moved to DR Byen (DR City), the opportunity arose to use the distinguished building as a music conservatory.
Many of the building’s original rooms were perfect for the purposes of a music conservatory: this, of course, applied, first and foremost, to the concert hall, but also to the studios and the choir rehearsal room. The existing office facilities could easily be adapted for the Academy’s administration.
Vilhelm Lauritzen Architects won the competition to design the Academy. The competition’s brief focused particularly on the practice rooms in the office wing. The listed building was rebuilt inside so that the interior would accommodate the requirements of the Academy in terms of acoustics, use, and climate while respecting the architecture of the building. Meanwhile, the façades and the beautiful canteen roof garden remained unchanged.
Rooms were established for the Academy’s vocal and instrumental teaching, together with rooms for teaching composers, conductors, music teachers, ensembles etc. In addition, there are practice rooms, offices for teachers and administrative staff, an auditorium and a music library. The Concert Hall, Studio 2 and many other of the building’s distinguished rooms remain unchanged.
‘The architect, Vilhelm Lauritzen’s unique, beautiful building complex from the 1930s has undergone an exciting transformation to accommodate the change from one purpose to another. Thus commences a new chapter at Number 22, Rosenørns Allé. From now on, the building will be 100% dedicated to music, providing a perfect setting for The Royal Danish Academy of Music.’
Quote: Bertel Krarup, President (2008)
Literature: Fra Radiohus til Musikkonservatorium, Morten Lund et al. (2008)